Teacher Gifts or Birthday Gifts

My friend,  Crystal showed me how she had made these for her son’s first birthday (she used alternating m&m’s and then put a star on the top with her son’s picture in it as party favors.

I thought I could make some as “flowers” so that I could arrange them in a vase as part of my photography class assignment.   They turned out so cute, I’m using them as teacher appreciation gifts this week and giving them to friends on their birthdays.

Here is the list of supplies which you need.

  • 1 x 8 plastic sleeves (I got these from Packaging Specialties – Redmond   100 sleeves cost $5.50 – I’m good for quite a while)
  • 1 sheet of scrapbook paper with butterflies on them. (Kaiser Craft – Fruity Galaxy $1.99)
  • 2 packages of flowers (pink and yellow found near the floral section in Michael’s not the scrapbook section for $2.99 each)
  • 1 package of starburst jelly beans (one regular package has enough for 2 sleeves of each color)
  • 1 package of plain m&m’s.  (I bought the 27 oz just to be sure I wouldn’t run out and so that I could snack along the way)
  • 1 bag of lentils

  1. You want to fill up the plastic sleeves with your jelly beans or M&M’s.  Don’t worry about making sure all the M&M’s go in a certain direction.  Once you get enough in they will lie flat so the M side doesn’t show.  The jelly beans are easier to fill, but I can’t decide which I like better.
  2. Once have filled up your sleeves you want to take a flower – love the twist ties on the back and then twist on the flower.  I found it was easier to twist between the top two M&M or jelly bean.  I also ended going back and removing some from a couple of them to make them shorted in size.
  3. To make the butterfly’s, I cut out a butterfly from the paper and then used glue dots to attach it to the sleeve of jelly beans or M&M’s.
  4. Fill the vase (on sale at Michael’s for $2.99) with lentils and the put in your flowers or in my case carry it to your friend who can decorate/arrange and have them put it together.
  5. You are done!

 

The Lettered Cottage

This entry was posted in Crafty - Decorating and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

