Adventure Tuesday – Poo Poo Point Hike

I have a new favorite hike!!!  If you are ever in town, plan on me trying to take you on this hike.  The view from the top is worth EVERY single step.

I am loving the change to go with a huge group of friends and check off all the things, I’ve wanted to do for the past 10 years and never had the time/person to do them with.

This is one of those cases.  Poo Poo Point is a hike that I’ve heard about and always thought that would be fun to do.   I am so glad that 12 amazing women joined me yesterday.

The hike is around 2 miles up and about 2,000 elevation gain.  The hiking guides rank it as moderate.  It is nice to see what they consider to be moderate.  It is mostly a single track trail.  The first 1/2 mile has lots of stones that have been placed into the trail to create steps.

I loved to walk surrounded by trees.  We stopped after about 40 minutes of uphill climbing to grab some water and food (trail mix) and continue our chatting.  It was fun to watch the stream of women going up the hill in front of me.

This hike takes you to a couple of launch points for hang gliders and parasailing.  We came up on the first launch point which faces south.

We found willing fellow hiker to take our picture jumping and with the background.

Then we started up a little further to western facing launch point.  When we got to the top it was amazing.   It felt like you were on top of the world.  You could see all the surrounding area (Issaquah, Issq Highlands, Lake Sammamish, Bellevue).  You just looked out and were once again convinced that we live in the best place EVER!  It was also amazing to see that you were at the level of the clouds.  You could see clouds floating past just below you.

The pictures don’t show you how amazing it is to look out and see soooo much.

We used a couple of camelbacks to be our tripods.  Don’t we look like we are on top of the world.  You sure feel like it.  I love it when you work hard to get to the top and then you aren’t disappointed at all with it when you are there.

Note the green AstroTurf to the right of the picture.  I wouldn’t be surprised if sometime you see photos of me running off there to start the most amazing parasailing ride ever.  Don’t have it planned yet, but it has been added to my to do list for sure. Plus I found a few other fellow adrenaline junkies to do it with me yesterday.

Looks like I’ll have to wait for two weeks (1st Tuesday we don’t have Adventure Tuesday) to go and canoe on Lake Washington.  Come on up and join us!

This entry was posted in Adventure Tuesdays, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

