Five on Friday – Thanksgiving Pie Party

This is one of my most favorite Holiday (OCT – DEC) Tradition in our home.  When we were leaving NY to move to Seattle, our good friends the Reeders had a good-bye Pie Party on the Wed night prior to Thanksgiving.  Fast forward a few years and we wanted a chance to spend time with neighbors.  This will be our 5th annual Neighborhood Pie Party.  I thought I’d tell you how on this 5 of Friday the easiest, best party idea ever.  Okay not being very humble here, but my neighbors have told me that about the party and I’ll explain why.     You have everyone bring their favorite pie.  That way everyone just showed up with the food they want to eat.  Plus by the time you get to pie on Thanksgiving you can’t quite eat enough to feel like you can truly enjoyed the pie.  This way I eat my pie on Sunday and love it and the rest of Thanksgiving feast on Thursday without having to worry about saving room for pie.

Couple of things you need to decide:

When to do the party – We’ve found that the Sunday evening prior to Thanksgiving works great for us.

Who are you going to invite – We invite the 20 families who live in our double cul-du-sac.  You could pick a group of friends from church, work associates, people from a kids sports team, whom ever you want.  Of the 20 families we usually have between 7-10 families attend.

Other than that it is just 5 details left to do:

1.  Two weeks prior to the party,  you hand out invitations.   I have done lots of different invites.  Basically you need – to tell them a few things – Date, time, place and to bring their favorite pie.  I always try to mention that homemade isn’t needed, but I’m always surprised at how many actually make their pies.  Let me know if you need a sample.

2.  Serving items – Collect as many pie servers as you can.  You also will need paper plates, napkins, forks and cups.

3.  Other food – I serve water because with different types of pie it is too hard to find the right drink, plus I love water.   I have a couple of containers of whipped cream.  I also take ice cream and put a scoop in a cupcake wrapper and then put them in the a cupcake pan and put in the freezer.  Easy way to serve ice cream without having someone standing and serving.  When it is time for the party, I put the ice cream “cups” on a platter, pulling more of the freezer as needed.   Idea is from www.realsimple.com

4.  I then take a cupcake pick and put a sticker that says “Hello my name is …. ” sticker on both sides.  That way when people bring their pie, they can label what type they brought.  Ideas also from www.realsimple.com

5.  Once the party starts – you can enjoy your guests and enjoy the amazing pie.

I am looking forward to our party this year on the 20th.  Hope you have a great one to!  I’d love to hear about yours.

This entry was posted in Entertaining, Five on Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Five on Friday – Thanksgiving Pie Party

  1. Karen says:

    Love this idea!! love the ice cream in the cupcakes too. How fun.

  2. Kari says:

    Could you send me one of your sample invitations? I think that I want to start doing this too! Sounds like a blast – one quick question – how much ice cream gets eaten or do you use more whip cream?

    • Kris says:

      We have never used more than 24 scoops of ice cream. I buy the three pack of whip cream from costco (I know not a pureist with real cream) and we always have plenty for the chocolate during the winter. Will email you an invitation.

  3. Gretchygirl says:

    We have been hosting a neighborhood Pie Party for the past 14 years! I was a little hesitant this year as my husband has been unemployed for the past 7 months, and I’m working 6 days/week. But my husband talked me into it, and many of my neighbors have commented about it (as we’re doing it a little later than typical). They definitely look forward to it, and it is a great way to celebrate with neighbors! I love your ice cream scoop idea. I always serve hot apple cider (wassail) too. It is a great way to kick off the Thanksgiving season!

    • Kris says:

      Thanks for the idea about hot apple cider, my husband had suggested serving that this year. I hope that you have a wonderful time with your party. Hopefully it will be a bit of fun into your life. Hope you husbands unemloyment ends soon.

Leave a Reply

