Thankfulness – Nov 1, 2012 – Jelly Rolls

I wanted to start today with a quote from a talk I read this morning and though how appropriate for the start of my month of posting what I’m thankful for.

“We live in a unique time in the world’s history. We are blessed with so very much. And yet it is sometimes difficult to view the problems and permissiveness around us and not become discouraged. I have found that, rather than dwelling on the negative, if we will take a step back and consider the blessings in our lives, including seemingly small, sometimes overlooked blessings, we can find greater happiness.  …

One is that countless experiences I have had were not necessarily those one would consider extraordinary. In fact, at the time they transpired, they often seemed unremarkable and even ordinary. And yet, in retrospect, they enriched and blessed lives—not the least of which was my own. I would recommend this same exercise to you—namely, that you take an inventory of your life and look specifically for the blessings, large and small, you have received.”  Thomas S. Monson

You can read the whole talk here:  http://www.lds.org/general-conference/2012/10/consider-the-blessings?lang=eng

So this month you will most likely see small blessing that truly become extra ordinary blessing to me.

This is a picture of a jelly roll.

I have an amazing friend who is an incredible quilter.   http://www.sewinspiredblog.com/ She is teaching about 5-6 of us to quilt.  Not just piece (few attempts at that in my life), but to do free hand machine quilting.  Her work is incredible.  I have learned lots about myself so far in life and one thing is that I can’t pick fabrics that go well together for a quilt.  Hense, the blessing for today is a magical thing called a jelly roll.  It is a sampling of lots of different fabrics, that someone who understands color, size of pattern, etc. put together for us ordinary non color combinating people.    I love this website which has more to choose from than you can ever imagine.  http://www.fatquartershop.com/Moda-Jelly-Rolls-Moda-Fabric.asp

Today’s class involved cutting and arranging our quilt pieces for our pillow tops.   Thanks goodness for jelly rolls.

This entry was posted in Crafty - Decorating, Thankfulness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

