Quilting – Christmas “Salt Air Crossing”

I finished it!!!!  I am so happy how it turned out.

This was my inspiration quilt that I saw it on Moda Bake Shop.

salt air

http://www.modabakeshop.com/2012/05/salt-air-crossings-quilt.html

I loved it and wanted to make it, but was wondering when and with what material.

I kept trying to think a way to do a Christmas quilt using Moda’s Basic Grey line called Blizten.

blitzen jelly roll

And decided to combine the two.  I used a white with small dots for my light colors.

I was going to try to do stripes of colors like the quilt I had seen (ie. red in one column; green in the next, etc).  When I had finished the blocks and laid them out on my floor,  I didn’t like it.  So I moved around blocks to get something that I liked much better.  Becky was a great help.

With this being my seconds quilt, I am still learning.  A few things that I have been surprised about is that as I complete each step – piecing top, machine quilting and then sewing. I love the quilt more and more with each step.  After finishing the blocks, I was worried that my light material had not been a good choice.  As I got all the blocks together, I like it more and more.  LOVE the final quilt.

Thanks to my best lookin quilt holder ever – Owen.

IMG_2762IMG_2766

Had fun with sewing stars onto almost every block in different squares…

IMG_2764IMG_2765

SEW excited with how it looks when finished.

Up next …. pillows for Becky for Christmas

This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quilting – Christmas “Salt Air Crossing”

  1. Andrea says:

    I love the choice of fabrics you used, it turned out so well! It is beautiful!!!

  2. It’s gorgeous! Love the design and the fabric choice 🙂 Avis x

  3. The quilt is amazing! I love the quilting! What type of foot did you use??

Leave a Reply

