Chevron Quilt

LOVE LOVE LOVE this one.

Chevron Quilt-2

I had seen this pattern on Moda Bake Shop   http://www.modabakeshop.com/2012/01/patchwork-chevron-quilt.html

and knew that I wanted to make it.

When I saw the material on Sister’s Quilters  http://www.sistersandquilters.com/shop/Fat-Quarter-Bundles/p/Luxe-in-Bloom-Fat-Quarter-Bundle.htm

I knew that I had found my perfect quilt.  It turned out even better than I had hoped.

The difference in what I did vs the pattern was that I didn’t use charm packs.  I ordered 2 sets of fat quarters of the 7 different materials (so a half yard of each of the different 7 fabrics).  I then cut the material to make the 5×5 squares (which is what charm packs are).

The quilt came together fairly quickly due to the blocks being large.

Chevron Quilt-6

The trickiest part I thought would be the machine quilting.  I have never quilted anything this large.  80×80.   I found that if I used a simple stitch and just went down the material and only moved down rather going across a block I could do this much larger quilt without a problem.

Chevron Quilt-5

Chevron Quilt-4

Chevron Quilt-3

Love my great quilt holder.

Chevron Quilt-1

On to my next quilt – thinking it will be a reminder of our trip to Japan… stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chevron Quilt

  1. karenscott24 says:

    amazing as always 🙂

  2. I love that fabric! I really need to get some ;0) I think your quilt turned out AMAZING!

  3. Julie Slocum says:

    Beautiful! Can you tell me how I could make one in more of a throw size (51×64)?

    • Kris says:

      This quilt was a Moda bake shop quilt. It was not a quilt I designed. Sorry I can’t help you. Ask the quilter on Moda Bake shop how to make it smaller. There is a link to the quilt in my blog I believe.

Leave a Reply

