Tokyo Train Vacation Quilt

Before I left for our spur of the moment trip to Tokyo this in February I was this quilt and thought it would be a fun way to remember out trip.

tokyo subway quilt

http://www.ohfransson.com/oh_fransson/tokyo-subway-map-quilt-along.html

When I got home and looked at it again, it didn’t remind me of the Tokyo Trains (something she had said on her blog).  I wanted mine to look more like it so I decided to make my own pattern.  (Note to self:  don’t do that again for a long long time)

Here is what the one of the many train routs in Tokyo look like.

Tokyo Vacation Train Quilt-10

 

So I got my trusty graph paper and traced it…  During the process I learned I should have been much for exact in my diagonal lines.

Tokyo Vacation Train Quilt-11

 

I started block by block.   Learn how to do half triangle squares…  And here is where my idea too me.

Tokyo Vacation Train Quilt-1

 

I wanted to show what and where we went.  The black squares represent Jeff and Heather’s house along with the many places we visited (to be best of my ability to read Japanese names and remember which stops we got off at… LOTS of personal interpretation was used I’m sure).

There were a couple of places we went to (Kyoto and the airport) that didn’t fit on the map – so I put them on the back.

Tokyo Vacation Train Quilt-8

 

The brown/grey line was the bullet train that we took to Kyoto…

Tokyo Vacation Train Quilt-3Tokyo Vacation Train Quilt-5

 

Green line was to the airport….

Tokyo Vacation Train Quilt-4Tokyo Vacation Train Quilt-7

 

I have never unpicked more in my life.  I learned a ton, but love the memory of our trip on our quilt.  It was suggested by a good friend to write on the quilt where the black squares represent – really like I might loose my mind someday.  Think I’ll take her up on her offer. Just need to get a fabric pen.

Fun to have a souvenir of our trip that will keep the memories alive and me warm at the same time.

This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tokyo Train Vacation Quilt

  1. Kindy says:

    LOVE IT!

  2. karenscott24 says:

    that is amazing!!!

  3. krapier says:

    Wow – you are a great quilter! Fun memory

Leave a Reply

