The Plus Quilt

My good friend’s birthday was coming up and I wanted to make a quilt for her.

I saw this quilt on my friend’s Pinterest.  click here    When I am looking for a new idea for a quilt, first stop is at her Pinterest because she does a great job of pinning quilts that I love.

And found it here on this blog. CityStiches

I then headed over to my favorite fabric store Sister’s Quilters.  They do an amazing job of picking 6 to 10 fabric that really go (from a collection of 30-40), keeping me from trying to figure out all the color choices (not my best strength) but I am getting better. Put it all together and you get this!  Love this Simply Style Collection.

plus quilt-1 plus quilt-2plus quilt-3 There wasn’t a pattern on the blog, so I kept the ipad on to the website and would count blocks.  I love love the white space on this quilt.  I love how modern it it.  It was my first quilt borrowing my friends walking foot and doing straight lines.  I LOVE it! As I worked on this quilt I started to think of all the amazing thing about my friend.  She is willing to do any crazy adventure I plan.  She is willing to help at a moment’s notice.  She gives great advice.  She is constantly helping everyone around her.  I realized that I could start to describe all the different times she has be a PLUS in my life.  I am much better when I am with her and she helps me be better than I am alone!  Can’t imagine life without her and so glad I have been able to call her my friend and close neighbor for 10+ years!!  Here’s to many many many more years +++++!

 

Entering this into the Blogger’s Quilt Festival

This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Plus Quilt

  1. wombatquilts says:

    Lovely. I am really taken with how the cross blocks are laid out. Really striking.

  2. nsturgill says:

    The colors are glorious! Very nice

  3. This quilt is beautiful! I love the modern feel to it. Your straight line quilting complements it very well! 🙂

  4. Beth says:

    love this quilt and I LOVE the fabric. What a great gift for what sounds like a wonderful friend.

  5. Dropping by from Blogger’s Quilt Festival, great use of negative space, can’t get enough of it and what fun to have such a good friend and neighbour 😀

  6. Such a great quilt and such a great friendship!
    Amanda

  7. Pingback: Quilt Blogger’s Festival – Spring 2014 | Kris Runner

Leave a Reply

