Simply Woven Amazing Race Quilt

Last May we had a family Amazing Race for friends and the theme was favorite things.  Needless to say – a quilt shop happened to show up.  They were given a 5×5 swatch and they  had to pick some material which matched.

Here are the materials which they had picked for us.  The original swatch was at the very bottom of the pile.

Amazing Race 2013-2-2

 

This is has been my longest Unfinished Project EVER.  I have found this pattern and wanted to use all the material to make this.  I used some other scraps from quilts which I had make.    I was able to get the blocks finished before school got out last summer.  Not much quilting happened in the summer and this fall it always seemed that I had a baby quilt or a quilt for someone else that I wanted, needed to do.  I gave myself the deadline of Memorial Day as my deadline.

For Mother’s Day, I got a walking foot (LOVE IT!!).  So it came in handy to quilt this quilt.

I think this is my largest quilt yet.  I knew the only way I could do it was to quilt with the walking foot and start with it all rolled up and unroll it as I quilted.

quilts-4

I love how it turned out.  I added a small block on the bottom to show off the original 5×5 block that they had to start with.  It is a fun way to remember all my friends who made it so much fun last year.

quilts-5

I love how the back turned out.  It was created out of left over’s from the front and extra material I had a home.  Once again, the inspiration is the center of the back.

quilts-6

Just linked to Blogger’s Quilt Festival.

This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simply Woven Amazing Race Quilt

  1. Kathy says:

    Love it! Inspires me to finish mine!

  2. Vicki says:

    Looks awesome, you should link up with the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, on amyscreativeside.com.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

