Sister Christmas Quilt – Seascape Pinwheels

Just finished another quilt,  I have never had so many different quilts in different stages.  I used to be only work on one at a time and now – yeah not so much any more.  Does that mean I’m becoming a real quilter?

My sister that we have for Christmas this year never reads my blog – so It is easy to post her info here and it will still be a surprise.  (if she suddenly starts to read it – I will blame my other sister who do read my blog).  Actually I liked this quilt so much I don’t want to have to wait til Christmas.  (Note: Yes it seems a bit early to have a Christmas quilt done, but I am seeing my family this summer for a reunion so I wanted to have it ready to bring it then – she can choose to wait or not wait.)

She said she wanted blue, green, yellow color scheme – no pattern request.  I found a picture of a quilt somewhere – don’t remember any more.  I thought it would be a great time to use up extra scraps.  I thought I had a huge pile with plenty, still a novice I guess, because I had about a 1/3 of the material I needed.  I had bought a layer cake a year a go called Seascapes by Deb Strain for Moda.   It was exactly the amount I needed to finish the quilt.

The yellow’s make a pinwheel through out the quilt which I loved.

koni quilt 2014-2

 

I love all blues, aqua’s, green’s with a splash of yellow.  I was trying to figure out how to quilt it.  I saw a quilt (once again – can’t find it now to give them credit that had quilted waves on a quilt).  Thought that would be fun to try.  LOVE how it turned out.

koni quilt 2014-4

koni quilt 2014-6

 

The back was lots of fun to make it a little off, but not too off.

koni quilt 2014-5

 

So Merry Christmas (love being done already for the extended family)!!! and Looking forward to our beach vacation with  my family in 3 weeks!!!!

 

This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

